The Official news and information site for TylerMurree.com

2011, Thanks for the memories

Well, 2011 is almost done! I don’t know about you, but I think that was one of the fastest years I’ve ever experienced. A lot happened here at tylermurree.com land. Let’s review…

After spending the better part of 2009-2010 touring across North America with The Lion King I felt like I needed a wee break from an 8 show/week theatre schedule. I decided that 2011 was the year I was really going to concentrate on working more in the land of film/tv. Well, that bet payed off.

From February – May I worked as the on-set acting coach for the YTV sitcom “Life With Boys“. The show airs several times/week on YTV here in Canada and will debut on Nickelodeon in the States in 2012. It’s also airing (or scheduled to air) in 180 countries world wide. Aside from being the acting coach for the 22 episodes I also appear in 3 of them as Mr Bennett, the nerdy math teacher at the kids’ school.

We’re still waiting to hear if a second season has been given the go ahead. I certainly hope it does. The cast of this show is fantastic and the gig is certainly a sweet one.

After Life With Boys I had a pretty slow summer. I shot a very short lived commercial for RBC Visa and an episode of the MTV show Scare Tactics with my friend Melanie Orr who directed the episode. That was a trip.

This September-November I worked, again as an acting coach, on the set of Fresh TV/Disney Channel’s My Babysitter’s a Vampire. This was an entirely different experience from my earlier one on Life With Boys. The shooting styles on both shows is very different and Vampire only shot 13 episodes as opposed to LWB‘s 22. That said, I had a great time working with the cast and crew. Sadly I won’t be appearing in MBaV but I’m proud to have worked on it.

So, that’s pretty much it, in a nutshell. I’ve certainly learned a lot from my time on set; both behind, and in front of, the camera. I’m glad I took that break from live performing and now I’m ready to go back to it.

Here’s hoping that 2012 is full of lots of opportunities. On Stage. On screen. In the recording booth. Behind the camera… the sky’s the limit.

And of course, Tan and I are expecting our little one in February. Crazy Good Times!!!

Happy Holidays from  www.tylermurree.com!!!

Leave a Reply

